Research Skills:

In researching university film courses to apply for, I made sure that I looked out for specific details such as the level of practical work on each course. In refining my choices I made sure that there was no outweigh of theory to course work. I also made sure that the equipment used on each different university course was of a reasonable standard. To carry out these pieces of research I took to the official sites for each individual course. I then read the course descriptions and, with the Sheffield Hallam University course, reviewed the employability section to see where previous students had found their place starting out in the industry. These seemed extremely promising with students moving on to work for Lionsgate and even work on such films as ‘Skyfall’ and ‘Spectre’ from the James Bond franchise.

All of my research revolved around reviewing the official websites for the universities I was considering. From there, it was simply a matter of deciding what I was looking for with the course I wish to progress onto and deciding whether or not I wished to study away from home or commute. So far, commuting is my definitive option. After a short while of uncertainty, I became aware that putting your choices in order cannot be carried out until you receive all offers. Prioritizing does not become key until later on in the  process of applying.

There was an issue regarding my choices which was that I had misinterpreted having the option of five choices for being expected to make five choices. I was sent an invitation for an interview at Media City in Salford. Rather than simply declining the offer, I decided to consider whether or not to attend, regardless of the fact that I am set on Sheffield Hallam.


Writing Skills:

When writing my personal statement, I made sure that I was formal throughout but listed as many of my experiences, relevant to the film industry, as possible. Even when referring to extra curricular activities, I ensured I was consistent with my formality, in writing.

The main issue I faced when writing my personal statement was the word count. Of course, UCAS has a limit to the amount of words you can use in your personal statement and this proved to be a challenge for me. This, of course, being due to my overly detailed wording of what could be a simple sentence. Building on the word count, there was also the issue of having to correct my personal statement after it was reviewed by a member of staff. I had missed out certain details in several of the paragraphs and therefore had to return to my statement and further develop the piece. This called on my prioritization as I rather quickly condensed and refined my sentences down so that they fitted within the word count. This, surprisingly, did not prove as time consuming as I expected.

Throughout the process of creating my personal statement there were two drafts made to ensure there was back up but also visual evidence of progression. For example, rather than both drafts being exactly the same, one consisted of the very first run of my statement. This was before it had been reviewed by members of staff and given areas of improvement. The second consisted of the final draft and, through reviewing it the improvements will become more apparent.

This was slightly different when in the context of my C.V. as I only ever had one draft until recently. I created my C.V. after reviewing several different templates and formulating an idea for my own. Rather than keeping the original and making a duplicate which would be edited, regularly, I decided to just update the original. Now, there are two drafts which are identical excluding one new reference added. Through creating my C.V. I have developed my formality and even reminded myself of the experience I have gained over the past three years.


Presentation Skills:

When creating my showreel there were a number of thoughts going through my head. One was that I should compile the best segments from each of the projects I had worked on from year one through to year two of the course. Then, there was considering how I would sell my title; ‘Director’ ‘Editor’ ‘Writer’ ‘Actor’, etc. After revisiting the exported video, I added the different roles I had undertook throughout the projects displayed in the reel. For each individual project, I added a label stating the specific areas I was responsible for such as directing or the editing.

When considering the duration, I wanted it to be no more than two minutes as I believe that if a reel lasts too long, the audience begin to lose interest. Also, the musical number that I created, in the background, was less than three minutes and so I had to prolong it, during editing. To keep the pacing consistent, I had to make sure that the running time was suitable and still delivered my work, correctly. Having reviewed other showreels, I was informed of how a professional reel should look and how the music should be less of a priority than the visuals but still of a standard where it is not distracting the audience away from important information.

I also created an official site for myself, using a website builder online. In developing this site, I made sure that the house style was completely reworked to fit my own individual style. In doing this, I am directly greeting my audience and informing them of my own creativity. Also, it avoids being too intense and, with the use of white, remains light-hearted but informative. I made sure that the site had a minimal amount of text so that, again, my audience did not lose interest reading through countless paragraphs of information. I chose the simplistic approach where there is still all that needs to be known, available, but without over-complicating the deliverance of this information.

Having analyzed different websites, I had an idea of what the modern era asks of from independent film makers. The aesthetics are always important, the deliverance of information and, of course, the content itself. I made sure that I advertised my projects to the best of my ability both through the projects page and through the showreel. The showreel, as mentioned earlier, had more insight into the specific roles I undertook through each project. This is always key with a portfolio; specifying your work and making people aware of what you can do.

I think my communication skills were reasonable in my promotional material. With the labels on the showreel, I was being direct and informing my audience what areas I have had experience in, what I am passionate about and what my style of film making is. I also made sure I chose a positive track to play in the background so that I was presenting my work in a more optimistic light. In doing this, I am enabling the audience to recognize what kind of film maker I may be and also feel they have an impression of what my personality is like which should be, outgoing and positive yet focused and determined.

In terms of things I would improve for future reference, I believe that I could have refined my choices more to make sure there was no confusion. At the very center of this,  I would make sure I ask for reassurance from a member of staff even if I think I have the right idea about something. For my website and showreel, I would probably try and find more projects from earlier years and add these to broaden the timeline of my progression in film making. For my personal statement, I would probably try and structure my paragraphs better by condensing all my relevant experiences into one paragraph then focusing my ambitions and personal description in the others. However, as a whole I am pleased with the outcome of my work on this unit.