Editing Audio:

Here is the completed audio sample for my Foley project. All sounds featured were recorded.

slide1

As an added measure I used a video reference to make sure I knew, more precisely, the timings and  cues for each of the sounds heard throughout the 2 minutes I had chosen of the silent film.

Some went on to rename each audio track however, I simply left them as they were and relied on the audio tracks themselves to help me differentiate between each of them. They had been renamed beforehand so this was a great advantage.

slide2

Here, the video was displayed in the bottom left-hand corner of screen. I had to begin lining up the sounds at the exact point where my timing came in as I was unable to cut down the video reference. This was due to Audition being dedicated to sound editing and not video.


During recording:

When recording the audio for ‘Safety Last’ the greatest amount of audio was recorded during the second session where myself and another student, working on the same film, were given the TV Studio to capture all sound. We experimented with several different materials placed around the studio and successfully generated such sounds as the curtain pole falling and hitting the officer. This was created by harshly folding up the metal legs of a table found in one of the corners of the TV studio.

Prior to creating the sound with the table we used my coat and dropped it to the ground before the microphone. This acted as the curtain material blowing in the wind and then the table acted as the pole hitting the man. We then found an empty bag on the floor and decided to use it for the sound of the officer falling to the ground.


Editing Audio (Continued):

Also, the yellow, curved, lines which intersect represent the fading in and out of audio. This was done to create a looping effect where the Foley for the crowds cheering and the traffic would remain constant throughout the two minute time frame.

slide3

And finally, here I edited and synced up the audio with the original video resulting in a rather successful outcome; the crowd Foley seemed to run smoothly and was in time as was the moments where the officer would hit the ground or pick himself back up from it. All I had to do was shorten the clip to the in point and out point coinciding with the timings I set out to create sound for.

slide4

Rather than increasing the aspect ratio to 1920×1080 I decided to simply make the video fit the scale of the current composition therefore leaving the black bars at either side and maintaining the authentic look.

 

 

Final product without added music:

Here is the final product without the original music.

 

Final Product with added music:

Here, after syncing up the Foley work, I brought back the music from the original clip. Fortunately, the music does not overlap the Foley work therefore the sounds were still audible and, most importantly, in-sync.